A must have: Sophie the Giraffe

I bought Sophie. I had to have her, it was this powerful feeling that I could not control. I went to two stores: first Kardstadt, a big department store. No Sophie, lots of wooden baby toys. Then I went to a proper toy store, the aptly named Puppenkonig (doll kingdom). I didn’t mess around and asked the clerk for Sophie in English. She was right near the check out counter, 15,99 Euro with tax.

I had never heard of Sophie the Giraffe until last Friday when I crashed my friend Teresa’s afternoon party. Iris was playing with Sophie, and her friends told me she was all the rage in Taiwan. I thought she looked fun, and we discussed how she was kind of expensive. Then my sister sends me an article about Sophie in Slate, “I’m French, Chew on Me”, which is totally hilarious in-depth reporting about how the number one baby toy on Amazon got its cachet in the US from celebrity babies and parents who romanticize France.Β  Then today in yoga class the sock monkey baby whips out Sophie—- you see, it’s destiny. I guess this is my first taste of getting caught up in a trendy toy rage.

Elena has not chewed on Sophie yet. But, she really paid attention to the squeak. I think she will be ready soon because she keeps putting her whole fist in her mouth. Anyhow, I think it’s time to be one of those Moms who carries toys around. Elena looked bored today in yoga.

Even though we have a million toys already, I have not been to a toy store in ten years or so. Wow, it’s fun in there. I wanted to buy all these miniature kitchen sets and pink purses. What a girl I am. Growing up is going to be great.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A must have: Sophie the Giraffe

  1. anna says:

    Hi Emily! Two things:

    1. Babies in overalls are the best kind of babies
    2. Sophie! Man, it’s like you don’t become a full member of the mom club until you have one. We have one as well and I shoved it at Oliver until he was 6 months or so, but he never really cared about her one way or the other. Apparently he does not care to buy into the latest fad.

  2. Linda Bergam says:

    Ahhh, as I read I could hear your voice, “Miniature kitchen sets and pink purses….” lucky Elena to have a girly girl for a Mom who just so happens to ALSO be accomplished and smart smart smart and professional and unabashedly does victory laps in the grocery store.

  3. theresa says:

    Have you chewed on Sophie yet to show her how it’s done?

  4. Emily Davila says:

    thanks guys! yes I did give Sophie a little nibble and she tastes pretty good. Agree on overalls, I just can’t get over how cute they are. I’m afraid shes going to grow out of them quick.

    • Linda Bergam says:

      I saw the same article Diana did and since then I keep seeing Sophie EVERYWHERE. I bet Elena will get interested when she is good and ready. Sophie would have passed Grandma’s test for a good baby toy: long limbed, easy to grab, tactile and pleasant to chew on.

Leave a comment